Group Leader


Foto: Eivind Senneset, UiB

Nathalie Reuter

Professor, Department of Chemistry

WoS Researcher ID: G-2037-2012

Nathalie received her PhD in Theoretical Chemistry in 1999 from the Université de Lorraine (Nancy, France). Her thesis work focused on hybrid QM/MM methods and was done in collaboration between the lab of Jean-Louis Rivail in Nancy and the group led by Martin Karplus at University of Strasbourg. In 2000 she joined  the group of Walter Thiel as a postdoc at the Max Planck Institute für Kohlenforschung (Mülheim-an-der-Ruhr, Germany). After a short time as an INSERM Chargé de Recherche at the Bichat Faculty of Medicine in Paris, she moved in 2003 to the University of Bergen to head the service group of the Computational Biology Unit. She was awarded a Starting Grant from the Trond Mohn Foundation in 2009, got tenure in 2013 and became then Professor at the University of Bergen. She teaches applied bioinformatics to molecular biology undergraduates and occasionally molecular modeling to graduate students.

Researcher and Postdocs

Mahmoud Moqadam


Peripheral membrane proteins, free energy calculations

PhD students

Parveen Gartan

PhD student

Early drug discovery, screening, chronic inflammation



Reza Talandashti

PhD student

Peripheral membrane proteins, lipid transfer proteins, Free energy calculations



Kjemisk institute. Foto: Eivind Senneset, UiB

Nicolai Alsaker

PhD student joint with Willy Nerdal at the Norwegian NMR Platform (NNP)

Solid-state NMR of peptide-lipid systems

Florian Pierre Echelard

PhD student

PePrMInt resource




Phillippe Samer Lallo Dias


Software engineer, PhD

Master Students

Previous members

Abboud, Angèle – PhD student, graduated May 2018

Bacle, Amélie – MSc student from U.Paris Diderot, Spring 2012

Broemstrup, Torben – PhD student, graduated, Nov 2010

Chéron, Jean-Baptiste – MSc student from France, Spring 2014

Deheuvels, Joakim – MSc student from France, Spring 2014

Fuglebakk, Edvin – PhD Student, graduated Apr 2013, Postdoc 2013-2016

Grauffel, Cédric – Postdoctoral, 2010 – 2013

Tubiana, Thibault – Postdoctoral associate 

V. Askeland, Hedda – MSc student, Spring 2023

Krtenic, Bojan – PhD student

Hajjar, Eric – PhD student, graduated Nov 2007

Hollup, Siv – PhD student, graduated Apr 2010

Kaupang, Åsmund – Postdoctoral associate, 2017-2019

Khan, Hanif Muhammad – PhD student, graduated Feb 2016, Postdoc 2016-2019

Kjærner-Semb, Erik – MSc student, Summer 2013

Klonova, Olga – MSc student, 2016-2018

Narawane, Shailesh – Postdoctoral associate, 2011 – 2014

Miao, Fengming – MSc student, Autumn 2018

Xue, Dandan – Engineer

Jansen, Kamilla – MSc student, Spring 2022

Muller, Florian – MSc student, Summer 2020

Romanowska, Julia – guest PhD student, 2010

Schillinger, Anne-Sophie – PhD student, graduated Nov 2014

Skjærven, Lars – PhD student, graduated Apr 2011

Tiwari, Sandhya – PhD Student, graduated Feb.2015, Postdoc until end of 2015

Venken, Tom – Postdoctoral associate, 2014-2015

Waheed, Qaiser – Postdoctoral associate, 2014-2020

E. Moutoussamy, Emmanuel – PhD student, 

V. Mameren, Lennart – Guest MSc student from Netherlands

External Collaborators

Ruth Brenk, Department of Biomedicine,  UiB, Norway; Charles L. Brooks III, Department of Chemistry, Department of Biophysics, University of Michigan, USA ; Christophe Chipot, CNRS, France & U.Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA; Annick Dejaegere, IGBMC, University of Strasbourg, France; Julian Echave, INIFTA, Argentina; Anne-Claude Gavin, University of Geneva, Switzerland; Anne Gershenson, UMass-Amherst, Massachusetts, USA; Cedric Grauffel, Academica Sinica, Taiwan; Bengt Erik Haug, Department of Chemistry, UIB, Norway; Helwig Hauser, Department of Informatics, UIB, Norway; Konrad Hinsen, CNRS & Synchroton Soleil, France; Vidar Remi Jensen, Department of Chemistry, UIB, Norway; Inari Kursula, Department of Biomedicine, UIB, Norway; Themis Lazaridis, CCNY, New York, USA; Alexander Lundervold, HVL & MMIV, Bergen. Norway; Ronen Marmorstein, UPenn, Pennsylvania, USA; Aurora Martinez, Department of Biomedicine, UIB, Norway; Christine Orengo, UCL, London, UK; Mary F. Roberts, Boston College, Massachusetts, USA; Willie Taylor, The Francis Crick Institute, London, UK; Sarah Teichmann, Sanger Institute, Cambridge, UK;  Joanna Trylska, University of Warsaw, Poland; Véronique Witko-Sarsat, INSERM, Paris, France; Helen Yu, University of Copenhagen, Denmark; …